Dhaka, July 11 -- Golam Mohammad Sirajul Islam, BNP MP-elect from Bogura-6 seat, on Thursday took oath as a member of the 11th Parliament.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath at 3:30pm at her office, said a Parliament Secretariat handout.

On June 24, Sirajul Islam won the Bogura-6 by-polls. The constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary seat in the December 30 general election, did not take oath as MP within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.

With Siraj's taking oath, the total number of BNP MPs now stands 7 in the current parliament.

Earlier, five BNP MPs-elect were sworn in on April 25 and April 29 last. ...