Bangladesh, Oct. 20 -- Unofficial results show candidates of the ruling Awami League (AL) dominating the elections and by-elections to Zila, Upazila and Union parishads held Tuesday.

More than 200 local bodies went to polls with balloting starting at 9pm and continuing till 5pm without any break. Unofficial results from a number of these local bodies have started to come in.

In Cumilla, AL's Nurjahan Islam bagged 276,158 votes while his rival BNP's candidate got 12,154.

In Barura upazila, the BNP candidates boycotted the polls raising allegations of irregularities. Voting was suspended at two polling stations, said Returning Officer Md Alamgir Hossain.

He said AL's Misbahur Rahman has been unofficially announced the winner.

In Sarank...