Naogaon, Feb. 12 -- Awami League candidate Shahiduzzaman Sarkar was declared the winner of the Naogaon-2 constituency election on Monday.

He has been elected MP for the fourth time.

Naogaon Deputy Commissioner and District Returning Officer Golam Mowla announced the results unofficially at 9 pm.

In this constituency, which consists of Patnitala-Dhamoirhat upazila on the border of Naogaon, Shahiduzzaman Sarkar secured 1 lakh 18 thousand 941 votes. His nearest rival Md Atiqur Rahman of JP got 74,381 votes.

On December 29, the Election Commission (EC) suspended the election of this constituency after the death of independent candidate Aminul Haque. Later, on January 8, the EC announced the election schedule again.

Published by HT Digita...