Dhaka, June 1 -- Elections to eight municipalities in the country will be held on July 17, according to a notification of Election Commission (EC).

The eight municipalities are - Bhandaria in Pirojpur, Dohazari in Chattogram, Gosairhat in Shariatpur, Debidwar in Cumilla, Mathbaria in Pirojpur, Chengarchar in Chandpur, Benapole in Jashore and Tarash in Sirajganj district.

The notification signed by EC Deputy Secretary Atiyar Rahman was published on Wednesday (May 31).

It said candidates have to file nomination papers on June 18. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on June 19 while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 25. The voting will take place on July 17.

Balloting will be conducted through electronic voting mac...