Dhaka, April 18 -- On Wednesday, April 17, the Election Commission (EC) divulged the timetable for the 3rd phase of upazila elections, set to take place in 112 upazila parishads on May 29.

EC Secretary Md Jahangir Alam made the announcement following a pivotal EC meeting presided over by Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Habibul Awal at Nirbachan Bhaban in the city.

According to the schedule, aspiring candidates must submit their nomination papers by May 2, while the scrutiny of these papers will occur on May 5. The deadline for withdrawal of candidature has been set for May 12.

Moreover, candidates have the opportunity to file appeals against the decisions of returning officers regarding the acceptance or rejection of nomination papers f...