Hyderabad, June 4 -- Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate M Raghunandan Rao won in Lok Sabha polls in Medak by over 39000 votes, defeating Congress candidate Neelam Madhu Mudhiraj and BRS candidate P Venkatrami Reddy.

He won a total of 471217 votes. This is the first time since 2009 that a non BRS party won from the seat.

Political history

Medak Lok Sabha constituency comprises seven Assembly segments: Siddipet, Medak, Narsapur, Sangareddy, Patancheru, Dubbak, and Gajwel.


In the 2009 general election, M Vijaya Shanthi of the TRS won the seat by a margin of around 6,000 votes (36.67%) over Congress candidate C Narendranath, who garnered 36.12% of the vote.


The TRS candidate, Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao, won the seat by...