Bhubaneswar, June 4 -- The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seems to script a record in Odisha as the early trends of vote counting showed massive gains for the national party in Assembly elections.

As per the initial trends data published by the Election Commission of India (ECI), the BJP is leading in 75 seats, surpassing majority mark in the 147-number assembly.

While Naveen Patnaik-led Biju Janata Dal (BJD) that ruled for 24 years in Odisha gained in only 57 Assembly seats, Congress is leading in 12 seats.

Several BJD heavyweights like Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was found trailing from BJP's Laxman Bag in Kantabanji Assembly Constituency. However, he was leading from Hinjili seat.

BJD candidates Bishnubrata Routray from Basudevpur,...