KATHMANDU, Jan. 11 -- Leela Giri has been appointed as the chief minister (CM) of Lumbini Province. Chief of Lumbini Province, Amik Sherchan appointed Giri, the CPN-UML parliamentary party (PP) leader for Lumbini Province Assembly, as the CM amid a function on Wednesday.

Giri had submitted a claim for the post of the chief minister with the signatures of 58 provincial assembly members.

There are a total of 87 members in the provincial assembly of Lumbini Province.

Giri was supported by 58 members of the provincial assembly including 29 from CPN-UML, 10 from CPN (Maoist Center), four from Rastriya Prajatantra Party, four from Nagarik Unmukti Party, three each from Janata Samajwadi Party and Janamat Party and Democratic Socialist Party a...