Nigeria, Oct. 21 -- The tax offices established by the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) for the administration of taxes for non-resident taxpayers will become operational by January 2020.

The Executive Chairman of the FIRS, Tunde Fowler, disclosed this on Sunday in an official public notice on the designated non-resident persons tax office (NRPTO).

A non-resident taxpayer refers to a foreign company as defined in the Companies Income Tax Act (Cap C2, LFN 2004 as amended).

It also refers to an individual resident outside Nigeria but derives income or profit from Nigeria, as defined in the Personal Income Tax Act (Cap P8, LFN 2004as amended).

The Chairman said the FIRS has identified non-resident taxpayers as a very important segme...