Bhubaneswar, May 12 -- Kalahandi Lok Sabha constituency in Odisha consists of Assembly segments such as Lanjigarh (ST), Junagarh, Dharmagarh, Bhawanipatna (SC), and Narla.

In 2019, the seat saw a triangular contest between BJP's Basant Kumar Panda, Congress candidate Bhakta Charan Das and Biju Janata Dal's (BJD) Pushpendra Singh Deo. BJP leader Basant Panda won the seat by trouncing his nearest rival BJD Puspendra Singhdeo.

Interestingly, the major parties have not repeated their candidates. This time, the BJP did not repeat Basant Panda and rather gave ticket to a new face and a woman candidate like Malavika Keshari Singh Deo. She is the wife of former BJD MP Arka Keshari Deo (2014).

The BJD has given a ticket to Lambodar Nial instead...