Itanagar, March 3 -- The BJP on Saturday named of two prominent figures of Arunachal Pradesh for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in the northeastern state.

Union Minister Kiren Rijiju and Arunachal Pradesh's BJP President Tapir Gao have been nominated as the party's candidates for the respective constituencies.

Rijiju, serving as the Earth Sciences Minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet, is set to contest once again from the Arunachal Pradesh West seat, a position he has held with distinction since 2004, with the exception of one term where he was defeated by Congress' Takam Sanjay in 2009.

A law graduate from the University of Delhi, Rijiju's tenure as Law Minister was not without its share of controversies.

Notably, in ...