KUALA LUMPUR, July 2 -- Several ardent supporters of Datuk Seri Najib Razak and Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi have been appointed into the Umno Supreme Council today.

Umno secretary-general Tan Sri Annuar Musa announced that Batu Pahat Umno division chief Datuk Mohd Puad Zarkashi, Hulu Langat Umno division chief Datuk Johan Abd Aziz, Bagan Umno division chief Datuk Shaik Hussein Mydin, Sepanggar Umno division chief Datuk Yaakub Khan and Seputeh Umno division vice-chief Datuk Razlan Muhammad Rafii have been roped into Umno supreme council.

"These appointments take effect immediately, until the end of the Supreme Council's tenure between 2018 till 2021," Annuar said, as reported by Umno mouthpiece, Umno Online.

Puad is the former directo...