Mumbai, July 21 -- With law emerging as a popular career option, the state government has approved seven new law colleges under University of Mumbai (MU), including one in the city, one in Palghar and three in Thane.

The government has also approved several additional divisions for self-financed courses such as bachelor of management studies (BMS), BCom accounting and finance (BAF) and BSc hospitality studies.

Last month, the state government released the list of new colleges as well as new courses and divisions to be started in existing institutes.

The list includes 89 colleges across the state, including 22 new institutes affiliated to MU. While seven of these are law colleges, the remaining are traditional arts, science and commerce i...