India, Jan. 13 -- Senior rocket scientist S Somanath was on Wednesday appointed the next chairperson of the Indian Space Research Organisation (Isro) and the space secretary, an order issued by the central government said. Somanath, currently the director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, will take over from K Sivan, who is set to retire on Friday. Somanath, 58, who will become the 10th Isro chairperson, has previously held the position of team leader for the Integration of the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV). He is a graduate in mechanical engineering from Kerala University, and completed his postgraduation in aerospace engineering from the Indian Institute of Science in Bengaluru. Somanath said that the aim during his tenure will be to expand the space programme on a bigger