Mumbai, July 10 -- The University Grants Commission (UGC) recently granted academic autonomy to three colleges in the city, taking the tally of autonomous institutes under the University of Mumbai (MU) to 30.

While Thakur College of Engineering (TCE) in Kandivli was granted autonomy last month, Thakur College of Science and Commerce (TCSC) in Kandivli and DJ Sanghvi College of Engineering (DJSCE) in Vile Parle were given autonomy last week.

The city has four other autonomous engineering institutes - Veermata Jijabai Technological Institute in Matunga; Somaiya College of Engineering in Vidyavihar; Sardar Patel Institute of Technology; and Sardar Patel College of Engineering, Andheri.

Academic autonomy allows colleges to frame their own ...