India, Sept. 8 -- Uddhav Thackeray, the Shiv Sena chief, has appointed Sanjay Raut, a Rajya Sabha (RS) member of the Sena, as the party's chief spokesperson amid criticism over his alleged comments about actor Kangana Raut.

The announcement was made by the Sena in the party mouthpiece Saamana on Tuesday.

Also read: Sena-BJP showdown in Maharashtra upper House as former allies field candidates for deputy chairperson post

Besides Raut, the party has appointed 10 other members as spokesperson.

They are Sena Members of Parliament (MPs) Arvind Sawant, Priyanka Chaturvedi and Dhairyashil Mane; Maharashtra ministers Anil Parab, Uday Samant and Gulabrao Patil; legislators Neelam Gorhe, Pratap Sarnaik and Sunil Prabhu.

Kishori Pednekar, the m...