India, March 8 -- Samajwadi Party chief patron Mulayam Singh Yadav will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Uttar Pradesh's Mainpuri, a constituency he has represented four times in the past.

The party released its first list of six candidates -- three general and an equal number of reserved seats -- for the elections that are expected to be notified this weekend or early next week.

The seats are Mainpuri, Badaun, Firozabad, Etawah (reserved), Robertsganj (reserved), and Bahraich (reserved)

The general seats will be contested by three sitting MP--Mulayam on Mainpuri (the seat that he had won but vacated to retain the Azamgarh), Dharmendra Yadav will re-contest his traditional Badaun seat, and Akshaya Yadav on his Firozabad se...