India, Sept. 16 -- Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh is among the Rajya Sabha MPs who have sought the Upper House's permission to remain absent for a part of or the entire monsoon session.

On Wednesday, Rajya Sabha chairperson M Venkaiah Naidu said the lawmakers had sought leave of absence for health reasons.

MPs who have sought leave include Parimal Nathwani of the YSRCP; Navaneethakrishnan of the AIADMK; KG Kenye of the NPF; Banda Prakash and Lakshmikantha Rao of the TRS; nominated MP Narendra Jadhav; Hishey Lachungpa from Sikkim Democratic Front; Congress' Oscar Fernandes and P Chidambaram; TMC's Manas Ranjan Bhunia; Anbumani Ramadoss of the PMK; Sushil Kumar Gupta of the AAP; and JDU's Mahendra Prasad.

On Monday, the House was i...