India, March 6 -- Six cabinet ministers of Karnataka have moved the city civil court in Bengaluru in what appears to be a move to restrict the media from publishing or broadcasting "defamatory content" against them.

The six ministers include Shivaram Hebbar, Dr K Sudhakar, Byrathi Basavaraj, B.C Patil, ST Somashekar and Narayana Gowda, according to the original suit filed at the Additional City Civil and Sessions Judges in Mayo Hall in Bengaluru.

All six ministers could not be reached for comment and text messages seeking a response went unanswered.

The filing of the case comes days after their ministerial colleague, Ramesh Jarkiholi, was forced to resign from B.S.Yediyurappa-led cabinet after a complaint of alleged sexual exploitation...