India, March 30 -- A week after they quit the Himachal Pradesh assembly, the three Independent MLAs, KL Thakur (Nalagarh), Hoshiyar Singh (Dehra) and Ashish Sharma (Hamirpur) held a protest outside the Vidhan Sabha in Shimla against Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania's delay in accepting their resignations.

The three had quit on March 22 before joining the BJP but their resignations remain unaccepted. They accused Pathania of succumbing to pressure from the government and warned of legal action if their resignations were not accepted within the next two days.

They had submitted their resignation to Vidhan Sabha secretary Yashpaul Sharma and handed over a copy of it to Pathania before meeting governor Shiv Pratap Shukla.

The three Independe...