India, March 15 -- Andhra Pradesh chief minister and TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu retained most of the sitting MLAs and inducted 20 new faces in the first list of candidates for 126 assembly seats late on Thursday amid protests by rival groups within the party.

Andhra Pradesh with 175 assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats will go to polls on April 11. The votes will be counted on May 23.

The Telegu Desam party with 102 seats, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) four, YSRC 67 and two Independents constituted the first assembly of the successor state of Andhra Pradesh in 2014. The TDP sent 15 members, BJP two and YSRC eight to Parliament from the state in the elections held along with the state polls that year.

The chief minister's residence at ...