Sri Lanka, Dec. 7 -- On the instructions of Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Economy and Policy Development Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa the imports of pepper, dried arecanut, tamarind, Cinnamon, nutmeg, mace, cardamom, cloves and ginger has been banned with effect from midnight on December 5.

The release said this measure was aimed to encourage and provide incentives to cultivators of minor export crops and small and medium scale industrialists in the country.

"In the Gazette notification issued in terms of the commercial nerve centre clauses of the Finance Act, the import of spices for re-export has also been banned.

The release said this would bring dividends to farmers cultivating agricultural products in 9 districts".

"In a ...