Nairobi, Nov. 25 -- The process of entrenching the constituency development fund in the country's laws went a step further after the National Assembly approved eight MPs to sit on a joint ad hoc committee to amend the constitution.

The constitutional amendment will be undertaken through a parliamentary initiative as provided for in Article 256 of the constitution.

Apart from the National Government Constituency Development Fund (NG-CDF), the motion also seeks to have three other funds - National Government Affirmative Action Fund (NGAAF), Senate Oversight Fund (SOF) and Economic Stimulus and Empowerment Fund - anchored in the constitution

The members of the committee are Ainabkoi MP Samuel Chepkonga (co-chair), John Mbadi (nominated), ...