New Delhi, Feb. 26 -- The Election Commission on Friday announced single-phase polling in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry Assembly elections, three-phase polling in Assam, and eight phases in West Bengal.

Declaring the election schedule for the Assembly elections in the four states and a Union Territory, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said counting in all five elections will be held on May 2.

Elections to the 140-member Kerala Assembly, the 30-member Puducherry Assembly and the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly will be held on April 6, while voting to elect the 140-member Assam Assembly will be held on March 27, April 1, and April 6.

West Bengal to go for elections in eight phases - on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April ...