After campaign heat, first phase polling for 8 west U.P. seats today

Lucknow, April 18 -- Eight Lok Sabha seats in West Uttar Pradesh -- Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Nagina (SC), Moradabad, Rampur and Pilibhit -- go to polls on Friday as political rivals... Read More

2024 Lok Sabha polls: It's BJP's 'son of the soil' vs SP's 'outsider' in Budaun

Lucknow, April 8 -- Known as the land of "pirs" (spiritual leaders) and poets, Budaun has turned into a launch pad for the progeny of politicians over the years. Be it the Lok Sabha or the assembly e... Read More

Second phase nominations end: Parties feel caste pulse, vie to win hearts in Jatland

Lucknow, April 4 -- Powered by Jat support after having brought the Rashtriya Lok Dal onboard as an ally, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is aiming for total dominance on the eight Lok Sabha seats --... Read More

Why non-BJP parties vied to get Mukhtar Ansari onboard

Lucknow, March 29 -- The death of gangster-turned politician Mukhtar Ansari, a five-time former MLA, on Thursday triggered a race among Opposition parties to express anguish over his demise and sympat... Read More

Uttar Pradesh: First phase nominations for 8 Lok Sabha seats conclude, stage set for 3-way fight

Lucknow, March 27 -- The stage is set for a three-cornered contest among the Bharatiya Janata Party led-NDA, the Samajwadi Party-led INDIA bloc and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) as the filing of nominatio... Read More

Apna Dal (K) stakes claim to three seats, SP makes counter-move

Lucknow, March 20 -- The Apna Dal (Kamerawadi) led by Krishna Patel on Wednesday decided to contest the Phulpur, Mirzapur and Kaushambi Lok Sabha seats, causing a flutter in the Samajwadi Party-led IN... Read More

BJP, SP candidate lists show contrasting strategies

Lucknow, March 3 -- The BJP's announcement of party candidates for 51 of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh on Saturday has set the stage for a contest between the ruling NDA and the opposition I... Read More

NDA gets a boost, INDIA suffers setback ahead of Lok Sabha battle

Lucknow, Feb. 28 -- The victory of all its eight candidates in the Rajya Sabha election in Uttar Pradesh has come as a major boost for the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) while cross-voting... Read More

BSP MPs eyeing greener pastures, Mayawati fumes

Lucknow, Feb. 26 -- With Bahujan Samaj Party MPs looking for greener pastures to retain their Lok Sabha seats, party chief Mayawati has hit out at those jumping ship. "The party has decided not to gi... Read More

Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council poll on March 21, another NDA vs INDIA bloc contest in the offing

Lucknow, Feb. 24 -- Even as the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance and the Samajwadi Party-led INDIA bloc are set for a faceoff in the February 27 Rajya Sabha election from Uttar ... Read More