Sri Lanka, July 11 -- The motion of no confidence brought against the government by the JVP, accusing the ruling coalition of failing to prevent Easter suicide bombings which killed more than 250 people, was defeated in Parliament today with a majority of 27 votes.

A total of 92 MPs including the JVP and a majority of UPFA members voted in favour of the motion while 119 voted against it.

The United National Font (UNF) and Tamil National Alliance (TNA) voted against the motion.

Following the Vote of Confidence this evening, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya announced the results to the House and adjourned the Parliament to 10.30 a.m. tomorrow (12).

Parliament yesterday commenced debating the no-confidence motion against the government in which the...