Lucknow, May 31 -- The recently-concluded elections proved to be a bitter experience for some apolitical candidates who could not even surpass the number of votes polled under NOTA (none of the above).

These candidates had taken the poll plunge after spending years in different professions ranging from income tax to media, defence and bureaucracy.

Some of these apolitical candidates succeeded to get a ticket from established political parties, but barring one or two, the remaining competed with NOTA in terms of vote share.

Shyam Singh Yadav, a retired PCS officer, successfully contested from Jaunpur on a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) ticket while others failed to make a mark.

Girish Narayan Pandey, who retired from income tax department a...